Liga Board Finalized Barangay Clustering

A gathering of very enthusiastic, aggressive and energetic Barangay Captains, which comprise the Board of Directors of the Liga ng mga Barangay Puerto Princesa Chapter, earmarked the beginning of a new era of collaborative barangay governance in Puerto Princesa City. The Board Meeting was presided over by its President, Cocoy Gabuco.

The concept of full and direct representation of all Punong Barangays into the Liga was discussed and approved during the first general assembly meeting of all Punong Barangays and was formalized by the board thru Board Resolution Number 2018-003 last November 9, 2018 creating seven (7) cluster committees to be working hand-in-hand with the existing Liga Standing Committees. The clustering of barangays was based on their geographic contiguousness and the similarity of socio-economic conditions. The seven clusters are: (1) Poblacion Central I Cluster (a) San Miguel (b) San Pedro (c) Tiniguiban (d)  Sta. Monica (e) Sicsican (f) Irawan (g) San Manuel (h) San Jose (i) Tagburos (j) Sta. Lourdes (2) Poblacion Central II Cluster (a) Kalipay (b) Magkakaibigan (c) Maligaya (d) Manggahan (e) Maningning (f) Masigla (g) Masikap (h) Masipag (i) Matiyaga (j) Maunlad (k) Milagrosa (l) Model (m) Princesa (n) Tagumpay (o) Tanglaw (3) Poblacion Central III (Coastal) Cluster (a) Bagong Pag-asa (b) Bagong Sikat (c) Bagong Silang (d) Bancao-Bancao (e) Liwanag (f) Mabuhay (g) Mandaragat (h) Matahimik (i) Pagkakaisa (j) San Isidro (4) South-East Cluster (a) Inagawan (b) Inagawan Sub (c) Iwahig (d) Kamuning (e) Luzviminda (f) Mangingisda (g) Sta. Lucia (5) South-West Cluster (a) Montible (b) Napsan (c) Bagong Bayan (d) Simpocan (6) North-West Cluster (a) Bacungan (b) Bahile (c) Buenavista (d) Cabayugan (e) Macarascas (f) Marufinas (g) New Panggangan (h) Salvacion (i) Sta. Cruz (j) Tagabinit (7) North-East Cluster (a) Babuyan (b) Binduyan (c) Concepcion (d) Langogan (e) Lucbuan (f) Manalo (g) Maoyon (h)Maruyugon (i) San Rafael (j) Tanabag.

Apart from being represented into the Liga as cluster committees, member barangays of each cluster shall strive hard to complement and supplement each other as an integrated area with the welfare of their constituents in mind. The Liga shall harmonize all cluster efforts with the whole of Puerto Princesa in mind.